Image shows Leah Hazard, writer of “Womb: The Inside Story of Where We All Began”,

Non-Fiction Book of the Year 2023 and Book of the Year 2023 winner

Scotland’s National Book Awards


Scotland’s National Book Awards 2024 are open for entries.


Scotland’s most prestigious book awards, since 1937 the Saltire Society Book Awards have recognised the achievements of Scotland’s foremost literary talent, from Muriel Spark, Alasdair Gray and William McIlvanney to John Burnside, Kate Atkinson, Michel Faber and many other Scottish literary greats.


Susan Garnsworthy, Convenor of the Saltire Society said: “The Book Awards represent the Society’s commitment to celebrate and support literary achievement. We very much look forward to receiving your nominations.”


Submissions are sought for:


·         Fiction 

·         Non-Fiction

·         First Book (début fiction, non-fiction and poetry)

·         Poetry

·         Research


Eligible titles must be first published between 1 June 2023 and 31 May 2024, and be written by a writer born or currently living in Scotland AND/OR deal with the work or life of a Scot, a Scottish question, event or situation.


Nominations must be submitted by the publisher (or imprint). There is a limit of two (2) titles per category per publisher/imprint. Publishers wishing to propose further titles for consideration may list these on an entry form; these may be called in at the judges’ discretion.


How to enter

Criteria and entry forms are available at: HERE

Forms must be returned with e-copies / PDFs to: [email protected]


Deadline for entries is Monday 24th June 2024 at 23:59


Applications for the Industry Awards will open in due course. To be notified when applications open, email [email protected] to be added to our database.

Deadline for all Book Award entries is Monday 24th June 2024

Watch the 2023 Book Awards Ceremony



Check out the 2023 Book Awards Winners

Image shows Liz Lochhead. winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award, at the 2023 Book Awards Ceremony in Glasgow

Check out the 2023 Literary Awards Shortlist



Image shows attendees at the 2023 Book Awards Ceremony in Glasgow 


Check out the 2023 Shadow Panel Blog

Image shows attendees at the 2023 Book Awards Ceremony in Glasgow