Celebrating over 80 years of excellence in Housing Design

The shortlists for all three Awards in this year’s Saltire Society Housing Design Awards have been announced ahead of the annual awards ceremony, which will take place in Edinburgh next week.

Now in its 81st year, the Saltire Society Housing Design Awards celebrate excellence and achievement in Scottish house building and place-making.

This year’s awards will be announced by Guest Chair Allan Little and Kevin Stewart MSP, Minister for Local Government and Housing. The 2018 ceremony will take place on 20 June at the ECCI from 5pm.

Click here to book a ticket for the Awards ceremony.


Single Dwellings Shortlist

The Panel is looking for excellent examples of houses for individual clients that demonstrate a strong concept, a successful relationship to their site and an appropriate energy strategy.



Due West

Greenhouse at Eskhill

Millbuies House

Cameron Webster Architects

Gray Marshall and Associates

Cameron Webster Architects




Strathdon House

Westside, Pentlands

The Coach House, Falkirk

Brown & Brown

Roxburgh McEwan





Inclusive Family Home

Fern Cottage

Claddens Holdings

Chambers McMillan

W T Architecture

John Gilbert



Multiple Dwellings Shortlist

Projects in this category should comprise two or more dwellings and may be only partially complete provided they form a distinct phase of a masterplan. The Society is keen to reward and celebrate excellence and innovation in low rise and suburban-development. Projects should demonstrate a high quality of place-making with clear hierarchies of public and private space and a successful use of landscaping. The design of the housing should address issues of sustainability, energy efficiency and adaptability.



Parkview, Dundee Powis Place, Aberdeen

Maryhill Locks, Phase 3


Carson and Partners

McGinlay Bell



Linkwood View

Main Street,Dailly

Fortune Place, Edinburgh

Kraft Architecture Ltd

ARPL Architects

Architect:Smith Scott Mullan Associates




Leith Fort, Edinburgh


Collective Architecture





Innovation In Housing Shortlist



Bath Street Collective Custon Build, Edinburgh
Architect: John Kinsley Architects


Linkwood View, Elgin
Archiect: Kraft Architecture Ltd



Countesswells Phase 1, Aberdeen
Archiect: Optimised Envirronments Ltd (OPEN)