Sunday 28 June 2020

Douglas Gifford: A Great Loss for Scottish Literature

Douglas was a true friend to the Society. Without Douglas, Scotland's National Book Award would not be the success they are today.
About Douglas: 
Professor Douglas Gifford was formerly Chair of Scottish Literature at the University of Glasgow. He was Emeritus Professor and Honorary Research Fellow and wrote extensively on Scottish fiction, including James Hogg (1976), and Neil Gunn and Lewis Grassic Gibbon (1983).
Douglas was a judge for The Saltire Society Literary Awards from 1982 till 2011, having joined the Awards in their relaunch year.  He was Co-Chair with Professor Ian Campbell for many years and worked tirelessly to ensure they represented and celebrated the best in Scottish Literature.  
 He edited Scottish Literature; Nineteenth Century, 1988; with Dorothy McMillan he edited A History of Scottish Women's Writing, and with Sarah Dunnigan and Alan McGillivray, Scottish Literature in English and Scots (2002). The Faculty of Advocates Honorary Librarian for Scott's Library at Abbotsford. He is a Fellow of the Royal society of Edinburgh.


29 October 2020

Fletcher of Saltoun Award Winners Announced

The First Three of Six 2020 Recipients Named by the Saltire Society

Read More >


29 October 2020

Fourth Fletcher of Saltoun Award announced

The Saltire Society present Fletcher Award for Science to Prof. Jason Leitch

Read More >


28 October 2020

Fletcher Lecture 2020 with Professor Rob Dunbar

The Trans-Atlantic ties that bind Scotland and Canada.

Livestreamed Tues 10 Novemener 7pm.


Read More >

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10   >