Wednesday 10 July 2019

2019 Saltire Literary Awards Open to Submissions!

Submissions are now being accepted for literature published between 01 Sept 2018 – 31 Aug 2019

Deadline: Monday 5 August


The Saltire Society Open Scotland’s National Book Awards to Nominations

Submit Here

Please note books may only be submitted to ONE Award category

The Saltire Literary Awards are now open to submissions from publishers around the world. Eligible books must be either written by a Scottish writer; the writer is living in Scotland, about a Scottish individual or focusing on a Scottish theme. The Saltire Society looks forward to welcoming entries from all over the world.

Recognising work across six literary categories including Non-Fiction Book of the Year, Fiction Book of the Year, First Book of the Year, Research Book of the Year, History Book of the Year and Poetry Book of the Year and two Publishing categories including Publisher of the Year and Emerging Publisher.  The Literary Awards see the winner of each book Award receive a cash prize of £2,000 and go on to be considered for the top prize of Saltire Scottish Book of the Year, receiving a further £5,000.



The Saltire Society has been celebrating the best of Scottish literature annually for over 35 years with past winners including Louise Welsh, Leila Aboulela and Graeme Macrae Burnet. Louise Welsh won the Saltire First Book Award in 2002 for The Cutting Room and, in 2018, she won Most Inspiring Saltire First Book Award Winner by public vote. This special award celebrated 30 years of the First Book Award. Leila Aboulela has now been translated into 15 languages and has won the Caine Prize for African Writing and been Long-listed for the Orange Prize for Fiction. Graeme Macrae Burnet was named Author of the Year at the Sunday Herald Culture Awards and shortlisted for the Man Booker prize in 2015.




Previous winnersof the Emerging Publisher category have gone on to become influential members of the Scottish literary community. 2017 Emerging Publisher winners Laura Jones and Heather McDaid, directors of 404 Ink, have gone on to make their independent publisher a success with a global reach and several members of staff.

2019 will also see the Saltire Literary Awards expanded with more exciting announcements to be made over the Summer.


Sarah Mason, Programme Director of the Saltire Society, said:

The Saltire Literary Awards allow us to recognise the immense talent of Scotland’s writers and the important contribution they make to culture. We are excited to be continuing our public judge opportunity which was a real success in 2018 and look forward to welcoming new voices to the Awards’ discussions.

We are hugely grateful to all of our partners including Creative Scotland, the Scottish Poetry Library, the Scottish Historical Review Trust and the National Library of Scotland. Without their longstanding and invaluable support, these Awards would not be the national platform they are.

Now firmly established as Scotland’s National Book Awards, the Saltire Literary Awards are supported by Creative Scotland.

Creative Scotland’s Alan Bett said:

These high-profile national book awards raise awareness of Scottish writing, writers and publishing, within and beyond our borders. They influence what appears on bookshop shelves, then in reader’s hands. A list of past winners – across diverse forms such as fiction, non-fiction and poetry – demonstrates a timeline of Scotland’s literary talent and features our most exciting writers, such as Ali Smith, Graeme Macrae Burnet and 2018 fiction winner Leila Aboulela.  We wish everyone taking part, across all literary genres, the very best of luck. 


The Literary Awards will be open to submissions of non-fiction, fiction, history, poetry, first books and research until Monday 5 August. THe Publisher Awards will be open until Monday 12 August



25 March 2019

Inspiring Scotland Bursary Announcement

We are thrilled to announce the two recipients of the Inspiring Scotland Bursaries 2019.

Read More >


30 November 2018

Saltire Literary Awards Announced!

We are delighted to announce the recipients of the 2018 Saltire Literary Awards.

Presented on the 30 November at Dynamic Earth.

Read More >


24 October 2018

Saltire Infrastrucutre Awards 2018 Winners Announced

The Forth Replacement Crossing project, with the dramatic Queensferry Crossing as its centrepiece, has won the Greatest Contribution to Scotland award at this year’s Saltire Infrastructure Awards with Glasgow’s Shieldhall Tunnel picking up the much-prized Infrastructure award.

Read More >

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10   >