Thursday 22 October 2015

Literary Awards Shortlists Announced!

At simultaneous ceremonies in Edinburgh and London celebrating excellence in Scottish literature, the Saltire Literary Awards 2015 Shortlists were announced.


2015 Saltire Literary Awards Shortlists

 Supported by the National Lottery through Creative Scotland


Saltire Society Scottish Research Book of the Year Award:

Clubbing Together: Ethnicity, Civility and Formal
Sociability in the Scottish Diaspora to 1930
Dr. Tanja Bueltman
(Liverpool University Press)

Microbes and the Fetlar Man: The Life of Sir William Watson Cheyne
Jane Coutts
(Humming Earth)



The Voice of the People: Hamish Henderson and Scottish Cultural Politics
Corey Gibson
(Edinburgh University


The Native Woodlands of Scotland
Scott Wilson
(Edinburgh University





 Saltire Society Scottish History Book of the Year Award:




A Chasm in Time:
Scottish War Art
and Artists in the Twentieth Century

Patricia R. Andrew


A History of Drinking; The Scottish Pub
since 1700

Anthony Cooke
(Edinburgh University Press)


John Knox
Jane Dawson
(Yale University Press)



The Going Down of the Sun:
The Great War and a rural Lewis community

 Donald A Morrison



 Saltire Society Scottish Poetry Book of the Year Award:

Jim Carruth
 Cream of the Well
Valerie Gillies
(Luath Press)
Not All Honey
Roddy Lumsden
(Bloodaxe Books)
The Good Dark
Ryan Van Winkle
(Penned in the Margins)


 Saltire Society Scottish First Book of the Year Award:

The People's Referendum
Peter Geoghegan
(Luath Press)
Audrey Henderson
(Homebound Publications)
On the Edges of Vision
Helen McClory
(Queen's Ferry Press)


The Liepzig Affair
Fiona Rintoul
(Aurora Metro
Books Ltd)
Lie of the Land
Michael F. Russell

Sixty Degrees North
Malachy Tallack


Saltire Society Scottish Non-Fiction Book of the Year Award:


 Young Eliot
Robert Crawford
(Jonathan Cape)


Adventures in
Human Being
Gavin Francis
(Profile Books)

Gill Fyffe


This is Scotland
Daniel  Gray & Alan McCredie
(Luath Press)


 Saltire Society Scottish Fiction Book of the Year Award:


 God in Ruins
Kate Atkinson
(Transworld Publishers)

The Book of
Strange New Things
Michel Faber

Janice Galloway
(Freight Books) 






An Dosan
Norma Nicleoid
The Illuminations
Andrew O'Hagan

 A Decent Ride
Irvine Welsh
(Jonathan Cape)


Download the full Press Release HERE

The 2015 Awards ceremony will be held on 26th November 2015 in Edinburgh.

Book your tickets quick for the hotest ticket in town HERE!.



11 February 2021

Branches Going Online

A number of our branches have taken their events online!

Read More >


28 January 2021

Celebrating the Life of Robin MacCormick

We are sorry to note the passing of Saltire stalwart Robin MacCormick. 

Read More >


4 November 2020

Fletcher of Saltoun Award Final Winners Announced

Three more inredible Scots have been honoured for their work in contributions to Science, Public Life and Arts and Humanities. 

Read More >

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10   >