Saturday 4 October 2014

Saltire Literary Awards 2014 Shortlist Announced!

Saltire Literary Awards 2014 Shortlist Announced!

The official shortlists for the different award categories that make up the annual Saltire Literary Awards were announced on the 4th October 2014 at the Wigtown Book Festival. The five book award categories, each accompanied by a £2,000 cash prize to the winner, are:

  •  The Saltire Scottish First Book of the Year Award supported by Tamdhu Speyside Single Malt  Scotch Whisky;
  • The Saltire Scottish History Book of the Year Award supported by the Scottish Historical Review Trust;
  • The Saltire Society Scottish Research Book of the Year Award supported by the National Library of Scotland;
  • The Saltire Scottish Literary Book of the Year Award (new for 2014) supported by the Saltire Society; and
  • The Saltire Scottish Poetry Book of the Year Award (also new for 2014) supported by the Scottish Poetry Library and Creative Scotland.


The Shortlists for the award catergories are as follows:

History Book of the Year Shortlist

  • Allan Kennedy - Governing Gaeldom: The Scottish Highland and the Restoration State, 1600-1688 (Brill, Leiden)
  • Richard Marsden - Cosmo Innes and the Defence of Scotland’s Past (Ashgate Publishing)
  • Steve Bruce - Scottish Gods: Religion in Modern Scotland 1900-2012 (Edinburgh University Press)
  • Michael Fry - A New Race of Men (Birlinn)
  • P Dennison et al - Painting the Town: Scottish Urban History in Art (Society of Antiquaries of Scotland)

 Full details of the History Book shortlist can be found HERE.


Research Book of the Year Shortlist

  • Jim Crumley - The Eagle’s Way (Saraband)
  • Catherine Moorehead  - The K2 Man (and his Molluscs) (Neil Wilson Publishing)
  • Murray Pittock - Material Culture and Sedition 1688 – 1760 (Palgrave Macmillan)
  • Iain J M Robertson - Landscapes of Protest in the Scottish Highlands after 1914 (Ashgate Publishing)
  • Robert McColl Millar, William Barras & Lisa Maria Bonnici - Lexical Change and Attrition in the Scottish Fishing Communities (Edinburgh University Press)
  • Bob Harris & Charles McKean - The Scottish Town in the Age of Enlightenment 1740 – 1820 (Edinburgh University Press)

  Full details of the Research Book shortlist can be found HERE.

Poetry Book of the Year Shortlist

  • John Burnside - All in One Breath (Jonathan Cape)
  • Jen Hadfield - Byssus (Picador)
  • Alexander Hutchison - Bones & Breath (Salt)
  • Kei Miller - The Cartographer Tries to Map a Way to Zion (Carcanet)
  • J O Morgan - At Maldon (CB Editions)
  • J L Williams - Locust and Marlin (Shearsman Books)

   Full details of the Poetry Book shortlist can be found HERE.

First Book of the Year Award Shortlist

  • Niall Campbell - Moontide (Bloodaxe Books)
  • Kate Horsley - The Monster’s Wife (Barbican Press)
  • Kirsty Logan - The Rental Heart (Salt)
  • Anneliese Mackintosh - Any Other Mouth (Freight Books)
  • Mary F McDonough - The Last Pair of Ears (Gadfly Editions)
  • Kirsty Wark - The Legacy of Elizabeth Pringle (Two Roads)                                            

  Full details of the Poetry Book shortlist can be found HERE.

Literary Book of the Year Shortlist

  • A L Kennedy - All the Rage (Jonathan Cape)
  • Anne Donovan  - Gone Are the Leaves (Canongate)
  • Sally Magnusson - Where Memories Go (Two Roads)
  • Martin MacIntyre - Cala Bendita 'S aBheannachdan (Acair)
  • Rona Munro - The James Plays (Nick Hern Books)
  • Ali Smith - How To Be Both (Hamish Hamilton)

 Full details of the Poetry Book shortlist can be found HERE.

 The winning book from each of these categories will go on to compete for the coveted Saltire Scottish Book of the Year Award, which is accompanied by a £10,000 cash prize to the winning author and is sponsored by Creative Scotland.

Publisher of the Year Shortlist:

  • Backpage
  • Birlinn
  • Bright Red
  • Floris
  • Freight
  • Sandstone

The winners of all award categories will be announced at a special ceremony on the 11th November. For more information and to book your place, click HERE

Alongside the five individual book award categories, a shortlist was also announced for the 2014 Saltire Society Scottish Publisher of the Year Award. Also sponsored by Creative Scotland, this award seeks to recognise and celebrate creativity and innovation within the Scottish publishing industry. The winning publisher will also be announced on the 11th November and will receive a £4000 cash prize to assist further development of its business.

Coinciding with the announcement of the 2014 shortlist, the Saltire Society has also revealed new figures showing the significant benefit to book sales experienced by those writers and publishers shortlisted for the 2012 awards.

Official figures show that sales of those books featured in the 2012 shortlist rose by 25% during the week after the shortlist was announced and by a further 32% a week later. By four weeks after the shortlist was announced, collective sales of those books shortlisted had more than trebled.

Speaking at the Wigtown Book Festival, Saltire Society Executive Director Jim Tough said:

“This year sees Scotland’s most prestigious literary awards become wider in scope and greater in impact through generous support from new sponsors Tamdhu Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky, Creative Scotland and the Scottish Historical Review Trust.

“Once again, this year’s judging panel has been truly impressed by the quality and range of books to be considered for the 2014 shortlist. Ranging from poetry and plays to novels and non-fiction, extending the length and breadth of the country and far beyond, here is a wealth of contemporary literature written by Scots or inspired by Scottish culture, landscape and history.

“Our analysis of the official figures also suggests that being shortlisted for these awards is very likely to pique the interest of the book-buying public and translate into a substantial increase in actual book sales.

“In publishing, we are fortunate to have a wealth of Scottish companies ready to innovate and adapt to the fast changing landscape of modern bookselling. Selecting a winner from this year’s shortlist will be a real challenge for the judging panel given the uniformly excellent pedigree of those companies shortlisted.”

Widely regarded as Scotland’s most prestigious book awards, the Saltire Literary Awards are organised by the Saltire Society, a non-political independent charity founded in 1936 which has membership branches throughout Scotland.


11 February 2021

Branches Going Online

A number of our branches have taken their events online!

Read More >


28 January 2021

Celebrating the Life of Robin MacCormick

We are sorry to note the passing of Saltire stalwart Robin MacCormick. 

Read More >


4 November 2020

Fletcher of Saltoun Award Final Winners Announced

Three more inredible Scots have been honoured for their work in contributions to Science, Public Life and Arts and Humanities. 

Read More >

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10   >