Marilyn Elsie Imrie

Radio drama director and producer

Marilyn Elsie Imrie (born 20 November 1947) is a Scottish radio drama director and producer.

Marilyn Imrie has worked in drama and broadcasting in Scotland and England for over thirty years as a producer and director, for BBC, ITV and the independent companies Absolutely, Bona Broadcasting, CBL, CIM, Kindle and Sweet Talk. She was a drama producer in radio and television in BBC Scotland for twelve years before moving to London to devise and launch the BBC Radio 4 soap Citizens in 1987, then drama commissioning editor for BBC Radio 4 until 1999.

She has been a script executive for BBC Scotland Television drama, a drama development executive for three major Independent Companies and a producer and director in radio drama and in the theatre. She has been awarded Sony, TRIC and Talkies awards for her radio production work, the Samuel Beckett Award for television drama for Paris (BBC Scotland for BBC 2) and an RTS Award for her work on the animation series Big & Small, starring Lenny Henry and Imelda Staunton. BBC radio work includes twenty Rumpole plays, sixteen of The Stanley Baxter Playhouse, eight Two Pipe Problems, four series of Baggage, and the Classic Serials: My Last Duchess, The Book of Love, Great Expectations, Lady Chatterley's Lover, The Card, Clarissa, The Lost World and The Heat of the Day. Theatre work includes: Overdue South by Jules Horne for the Traverse Theatre/BBC Scotland, Lie Down Comic by John Mortimer, The Bones Boys by Colin MacDonald for Oran Mor, Elsie and Mairi Go To War by Diane Atkinson, Blow Me Beautiful by Gabriel Quigley and Vicki Liddelle, Daphnis and Chloe adapted by Hattie Naylor for Oran Mor, Mortimer’s Miscellany for the Henley Festival, and Prunella Scales and Edward Fox in their theatre entertainment English Eccentrics. She divides her working and home life between Edinburgh and London. She is joint-chair of the board of Stellar Quines Theatre Company and a trustee of the new writing theatre company Paines Plough.

To make your own nomination download the nomination form here