Margot Bennett

1912 - 1980

Scottish author Margot Bennett was born in 1912 in Lenzie.

Margot  was educated in Scotland and Australia and worked first first as a copywriter in the UK and Sydney, Australia and then as a nurse during the Spanish Civil War before turning to writing.

Her output in crime fiction was relatively small, yet successful: The Man Who Didn't Fly was shortlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger and was runner-up to Charlotte Armstrong's A Dram of Poison for Best Novel at the Edgars in 1956. She won the Gold Dagger two years later in 1958 with Someone from the Past. Margot was chosen to contribute a short story to the second CWA anthology, Choice Of Weapons, edited by Michael Gilbert.

Margot also wrote science fiction, including The Long Way Back, about African colonization of Britain following a nuclear holocaust.



  • Time to Change Hats (1945)
  • Away Went the Little Fish (1946)
  • The Golden Pebble (1948)
  • The Widow of Bath (1952)
  • Farewell Crown and Goodbye King (1952)
  • The Long Way Back (1955)
  • The Man Who Didn't Fly (1955); shortlisted for Gold Dagger Award
  • Someone from the Past (1958); Gold Dagger Award
  • That Summer's Earthquake (1964)
  • The Intelligent Woman's guide to Atomic Radiation (1964)
  • The Furious Masters (1968)