2014 Saltire Society Literary Awards Shortlist


Saltire Society Scottish First Book of the Year Award:

Moontide The Monster's Wife The Rental Heart
Niall Campbell Kate Morsley Kirsty Logan
Bloodaxe Books Barbican Press Salt
Any Other Mouth The Last Pair of Ears The Legacy of Elizabeth Pringle
Anneliese Mackintosh Mary F McDonough Kirsty Wark
Freight Books Gadfly Editions Two Roads


Saltire Society Scottish History Book of the Year Award:


Scottish Gods

Painting the Town 

A New Race of Men
Steve Bruce Multiple Author Volume Michael Fry
Edinburgh University Press  Society of Antiquaries Scotland Birlinn
Governing Gaeldom

Cosmo Innes 

Alan Kennedy Richard A Marsden  
BRILL, Leiden Ashgate Publishing  


Saltire Society Scottish Research Book of the Year Award:

The Eagle's Way The Scottish Town Lexical Variation 
Jim Crumley R. Harris & C. McKean Multiple Author Volume
Saraband Edinburgh University Press Edinburgh University Press
The K2 Man Material Culture  Landscapes of Protest
Catherine Moorhead Murray Pittock Iain J.M. Robertson
Neil Wilson Publishing Palgrave Macmillan Ashgate Publishing


Saltire Society Scottish Fiction Book of the Year Award:

All the Rage Cala Bendita ‘S a Bheannachdan  Gone are the Leaves
A.L. Kennedy Martin MacIntyre   Anne Donovan
Jonathon Cape   Acair   Canongate
 Where Memories Go  The James Plays  How to Be Both
 Sally Magnusson  Rona Munro  Ali Smith
 Two Roads  Nick Hern Books  Hamish Hamilton


Saltire Society Scottish Poetry Book of the Year Award:

All One Breath Bones & Breath Byssus
John Burnside Alexander Hutchison Jen Hadfield
Jonathan Cape Salt Picador

The Cartographer 

At Maldon Locust and Marlin
Kei Millar J.O. Morgan JL Williams
Carcanet CB Editions Shearsman Books