The Saltire Society Literary Awards are currently closed to submissions.


We look forward to opening submissions later in the year. If you have any questions in the meantime or you wish to be notified when the Awards open, please email




Scotland's National Book Awards

Winners 2019



The Saltire Society announced the winners of the 2019 Literary Awards at a glittering ceremony at the National Museum of Scotland on Saturday 30 November.  Kirstie Blair received the prestigious Saltire Society Scottish Book of the Year Award for her Working Verse in Victorian Scotland: Poetry, Press, Community (published by Oxford University Press), and in a new award for 2019 Alasdair Gray was awarded the inaugural Saltire Society Scottish Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution to Scottish literature.