2016 Saltire Society Housing Design Awards Winners Anounced

The winners of the 2016 Saltire Society Housing Design Awards and the recipient of the Saltire International Travel Bursary were announced at a special ceremony in Edinburgh yesterday (30th  June), attended by the Minister for Housing, Kevin Stewart.

Now in their 79th year, the Saltire Society Housing Design Awards celebrate excellence and achievement in Scottish house building and place-making and are part of a busy programme of special events and awards planned to celebrate the Saltire Society’s 80th anniversary year.

Those at the awards were lucky to hear a lively discussion between this year’s guest chair, Kirsty Wark, and former chairs Malcolm Fraser and Toby Paterson about Scottish housing design through the years.

Mr Stewart recognised winners across Scotland in four different categories, each receiving a Saltire plaque:


Blakeburn Cottage, the remodelling of a farm building in the Borders. Joint winner in the Alterations, Renovation and Extensions category, this project also won the coveted Saltire Medal and an accompanying £1,500 prize. 

Muckle Roe Chapel on Muckle Roe Island, Shetland also won an award in the Alterations, Renovation and Extensions category.

Tigh Na Croit, a new build project in Ross-shire. Winner of the Single Dwelling New Build category.

Glasgow’s Commenwealth Games Athletes Village. Winner of the Landscape in Housing category.

Hab Lab, a project that explores how the ‘Performance gap’ found within new and existing housing stock can be eliminated. Winner of the Innovation in Housing category and accompanying £1,500 prize.

Edinburgh University student  Michael Mallinder-Macleod scooped the Saltire International Travel Bursary, created in partnership with the British Council Scotland, for a submission titled ‘Housing an ageing population: How are our neighbours doing it?’ Michael Mallinder-MacLeod will now travel to Denmark and the Netherlands to interview architects involved in designing new models for elderly living and meet with residents to discuss their ideas for better housing. He will then publish a report with ideas and recommendations for Scotland’s elderly housing sector.

Receiving commendations from the judges were two projects in Edinburgh; Sunken Extension, a complex extension to a Grade B listed Georgian house, in the Alterations, Renovation and Extension category, and Tudsbery Court, a new housing development in Craigmillar, in the Landscape in Housing category. Receiving a commendation in the Innovation in Housing category was an innovative wheelchair accessible holiday cottage in Fife, called The Rings, and commended in the Multiple Housing category, where no outright winner was chosen, was the significant redevelopment and regeneration of the Sighthill area in Glasgow.

Housing Minister Kevin Stewart MSP said at the ceremony:

“In this, the 80th year of the Saltire Society, these Awards continue to set a benchmark for excellence in the design of individual housing and in the creation of great places.

“Highlighting exemplary practice in housing, the Saltire Society’s Awards promote projects that showcase the importance of design in delivering good quality across all tenures and house types.”

Celebrating 80 years of Architecture
Kirsty Wark to chair
2016 Saltire Society Housing Design Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2016 Saltire Society Housing Design Awards with this year’s judging panel due to be guest chaired by renowned Scottish journalist, writer and television presenter Kirsty Wark.


2016 Housing Design Awards Information Pack

2016 Housing Design Entry Form

2016 Innovation in Housing Entry Form

2016 Housing Award Powerpoint Template

Submissions must be received by noon on 14th March 2016

2016 will also see research on 80 years of the Saltire Society Housing Awards taking place allowing the Society, the industry and the general public to better understand the longevity and significance of Scottish housing projects. This will be the basis for an open discussion between the past guest chairs of the Award, bringing the likes of Lesley Riddoch, Toby Paterson and Dick Cannon together to discuss the issues concerning Scottish place making.

Now in their 79th year, the Saltire Society Housing Design Awards celebrate excellence and achievement in Scottish house building and place-making and are open to entries from Owners, Clients, Architects, House-builders and Housing Developers of all shapes and sizes across Scotland. Projects completed between 1st January 2014 and 31st March 2016 can be nominated for five different categories:

  • Multiple Housing Development
  • Alterations, Renovations and Extensions
  • Single Dwelling New Build
  • Landscape in Housing
  • Innovation in Housing

Kirsty Wark, will guest chair an expert panel of judges who will select the overall winner in each category.

Last year’s winners included Laurieston Transformation Regneration Area in Glasgow South, new build apartments in St Andrew’s Conservation Area, a renovation project in Faichem, Invergarry and Murphy House, a contemporary new build within the World Heritage Site of Edinburgh New Town.

The Scottish Government continue to sponsor the ‘Innovation in Housing’ award in 2016 which sees a cash prize of £1,500 for the winner.

Submissions must be received by noon on 14th March with the awards ceremony due to take place at the Centre for Carbon Innovation in Edinburgh on 30th June 2016.

Kirsty Wark said:

“I am very much looking forward to chairing this year’s Housing Design Awards in such a significant year for the Saltire Society, particularly when 2016
is also the Year of Innovation, Architecture and Design in Scotland. There’s so much creativity in the housing sector in Scotland, such thoughtful forward thinking architecture and design which enhances our cityscapes and landscapes, so that our houses can be a joy to experience, either dwelling in them…or admiring them!”

Jude Barber, Convenor of the Saltire Society Housing Design Awards, said:

“This year’s special ‘Test of Time’ project, which will allow the Society, the industry and the general public to better understand the longevity and significance of Scottish housing projects, is a great way to recognise the depth and range of housing excellence in Scotland. Now in their 79th year, the Saltire Society Housing Design Awards are an important means of recognising and celebrating outstanding achievements in housing design and the important contribution they make to Scotland’s culture and society.

“We are particularly pleased to welcome Kirsty Wark to the role of Annual Guest Chair. Kirsty is one of Britain’s most experienced television journalists, winning several major awards for her work. We think she will be a terrific addition to this year’s awards ceremony.