2014 Saltire Society Housing Design Awards Winners

The Saltire Society’s 2014 Saltire Housing Design Awards were presented at a special ceremony at The Edinburgh Centre of Carbon Innovation by guest of honour Derek Mackay, Minister for Local Government and Planning.

The Housing Design Awards recognise excellence across five categories and represent a long-standing commitment from the Saltire Society to celebrate innovation and excellence in Scottish house building and place-making.

Local Government and Planning Minister Derek Mackay said:

“The Scottish Government’s support for the Saltire Society’s Housing Design Awards recognises their long-standing importance in helping to raise the quality of Scotland’s built environment.

 “As well as the Housing Design awards, Scottish Ministers support the Society’s Innovation Award, which recognises many kinds of innovation, including the importance of pursuing new technologies and construction methods to minimise life-cycle costs and energy use – consistent with this Government’s ultimate aim for new homes to meet the highest sustainability standards. 

 “The Saltire Society recognises that people don’t just need great housing – they need great housing that is part of a great place.  And that is why I want to ensure that our planning policies reflect our ambition to create great places that support sustainable economic growth across the country, as outlined in the newly published Scottish Planning Policy.”


Saltire Medal

  North Gardner Street
Cameron Webster Architects


Large Scale Housing Development



Commonwealth Games Village

Charleston Square
FBN Architects


Argyle St & Shaftesbury Avenue
Collective Architecture




St Martin's Church Redevelopment
Ian Springford Architects


Gracemount Housing Phase 1
Smith Scott Mullan Associates


Small Scale Housing Developments Awards


                           Burns Wynd                            
Austin Smith Lord LLP


Single Dwelling New Build Awards


4 Graham Place
Shane M Scott Ltd & Reiach and Hall Architects


House No. 7, Tiree
Denzien Works


Cliff House
Dualchas Architects



House at Camusdarach
Raw Architecture



House at Colbost
Dualchas Architects



Taign Sonas
Simon Winstanley Architects


Alterations, Renovations and Extensions Awards

Moncrieff Avenue
Cameron Webster Architects


North Gardner Street
Cameron Webster Architects




Commonwealth Games Athletes’ Village


Bogendollo House, Aberdeenhire
     Scott Sutherland School of Architecture



John Gilbert Architects