Friday 6 July 2018

Saltire Literary Awards Launched

The Saltire Society 2018 Literary Awards:

30th Anniversary of the First Book of the Year Award


Submissions are now being accepted for literature
published between 01 Sept 2017 – 31 Aug 2018

Monday 6 August

Find out More and Apply HERE


Writers, publishers and Scotland’s literary community
encouraged to get involved as panel members

Deadline: Monday 6 August

Find out more and apply HERE


Widely recognised as Scotland’s most prestigious book awards, the Saltire Literary Awards represent a long-standing commitment from the Saltire Society to celebrate and support Scottish literary achievement and are run with the support of Creative Scotland.

Submissions across the eight award categories are now being accepted for literature published between 01 Sept 2017 – 31 Aug 2018, entries close on Monday 6 August 2018. This year also sees a call for individuals who have a passion for literature and experience in the literary community to form part of the Award panel for the First Book, Non-Fiction and Fiction Book Awards. Apply here:

Recognising work across six Literary Categories including Non-Fiction Book of the Year, Fiction Book of the Year, First Book of the Year, Research Book of the Year, History Book of the Year and Poetry Book of the Year and two Publishing Categories including Publisher of the Year and Emerging Publisher,  the awards see the winner of each book category receive a cash prize of £2,000 and go on to be considered for the top prize of £6,000, awarded to the Saltire Society Book of the Year.

Previous winner of the First Book of the Year, Helen McClory, said:“Winning the Saltire First Book of the Year Award made a huge difference to my career and opened a lot of doors. I was especially grateful the book was chosen given it was published by a small company.”

2018 also sees the 30th anniversary of the First Book of the Year Award.  This is an award which has celebrated the likes of Ali Smith, AL Kennedy and Michel Faber for their first works and has seen recipients go on to be central players in the international literary landscape.

The Saltire Society Literary Awards rely on expert panels of judges, helping to celebrate a wide range of works. This year sees a call for individualswho have a passion for literature and experience in the literary community to form part of our panels of independent, impartial judges for the First Book, Non-Fiction and Fiction Book Awards. If you would like to apply to be a judge on the Awards panels for one these categories please find application procedure at

Sarah Mason, Programme Director of the Saltire Society, said:“The Saltire Literary Awards allow us to recognise the immense contribution and talent of Scotland’s writers, from the emerging to the established. We are extremely proud of all our Awards for celebrating the astounding talent in Scotland’sliterary world and we are excited to be opening up the judging experience to a diverse audience. We are hugely grateful to all of our partners includingCreative Scotland, the Scottish Poetry Library, the Scottish Historical Review Trust and the National Library of Scotland. Without their longstanding andinvaluable support,these Awards simply would not take place.”

Alan Bett, Literature Officer at Creative Scotland said: 
“The Saltire Society Literary Awards act as a platform for the best in Scottish literature; the first to highlight fresh talent and to show the overall strength and breadth of our writers. This year’s open call for judging panel members offers the opportunity for you to contribute to the important role these awards play, going well beyond celebration and ceremony. I’m personally looking forward to returning to my panel role in 2018, another year that will leave me surrounded by stacks of Scotland’s finest literary works, and looking, in this 30th year, for something to match past First Book of the Year winners Helen McClory, Michel Faber or Ali Smith.”

Information on how to enter the Awards and apply to become a judge can be found at:

Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Fiction Book of the Year

First Book of the Year

Research Book of the Year

History Book of the Year 

Poetry Book of the Year 

Publisher of the Year and Emerging Publisher

Apply to become a Judge

For further information please contact the Saltire Society on 0131 556 1836 or


22 September 2018

The 2018 Fletcher of Saltoun Awards announced

 the 30th annual Fletcher of Saltoun awards were announced on 22 September. Organised by the Saltire Society, this honorary award is presented annually to inspiring Scots in recognition of their outstanding contribution to Scotland’s culture and society.

Read More >


30 July 2018

Outstanding Women of Scotland 2018

Join us as at a special event announcing the 2018 Saltire Outstanding Women of Scotland.

Read More >


20 June 2018

Saltire Housing Awards 2018 Winners Announced!

Read about the winning projects celebrated at last nights awards ceremony.

Read More >


18 April 2018

Competition Seeks Best Poetry in Scots, Scottish Gaelic and English

The Saltire Society is delighted to be continuing our support of the Wigtown Scots Poetry Competition in 2018

Read More >


29 March 2018

Alasdair Gray Bursary Winner Announcement

Folksinger Iona Fyfe has been awarded the Alasdair Gray Inspring Scotland Bursary.

Read More >


19 March 2018

Inspiring Scotland Bursary sees Writer go to Brazil

Writer Helen McClory attended the Kaaysa Residency, a month long Residency in Brazil.

Read More >


30 November 2017

saltire Literary Awards Announced!

The Saltire Society Literary Awards were announced on St Andrew's Day

Read More >


30 November 2017

Saltire Publisher Awards Announced

The Saltire Society Publisher of the Year Awards were announced on St Andrew's Day

Read More >


25 October 2017

Saltire Civil Engineering Awards 2017 Announced

We were delighted to announce the 2017 Saltire Civil Engineerings Awards at a ceremony in the National Museum of Scotland on the 24October.

Read More >


18 September 2017

Dundee Contemporary Arts Centre Hosts 2017 Fletcher of Saltoun Awards

The 2017 Fletcher of Saltoun Awards were presented at the Dundee Contepoary Arts Centre this past Saturday Septmebr 16th.

Read More >


21 June 2017

Saltire Housing Design Awards Announced!

We announced our 2017 Housing Design Awards on the 21st June 2017. Find out who won what.

Read More >