Tuesday 7 March 2017

10 New Inductees into the Outstanding Women of Scotland Community


Myrtle Simpson, Professor Dame Sue Black and Horse McDonald included as 2017 ‘Outstanding Women of Scotland’ inductees

Ten Scottish women from the fields of the arts, culture, politics, activism and science have been honoured and inducted into the esteemed Saltire Society ‘Outstanding Women of Scotland’ community at a special event held at Glasgow Women’s Library this evening.

Myrtle Simpson (Explorer of Arctic regions; sea canoer, climber and writer who recently received the Polar Medal) said she was ‘honoured and shocked to be included as an Outstanding Woman of Scotland’.

On being informed of her honour Professor Dame Sue Black said ‘How incredibly kind and amazing, I am inordinately grateful to the Society.’

This year’s ten inductees also included theatre critic and journalist Joyce McMillan; Dance Artist Rosina Bonsu; Writer, Performer and activist Jo Clifford; visual artist Sam Ainsley; performance artist and choreographer Caroline Bowditch; Journalist and community leader Remzije Sherifi and co-founder of Glasgow Girls Roza Salih.

Following a tremendously successful inaugural ceremony in 2015, with inductees including First Minister Nicola Sturgeon and Scotland’s recently appointed new Makar Jackie Kay, members of the public were invited to submit nominations for a third year. Once again, the key criterion for consideration was that those nominated should be living contemporary examples of Scottish women who have made a significant contribution to Scottish culture and society.

Created in partnership with Glasgow Women’s Library, the ‘Outstanding Women of Scotland’ community aims to recognise and celebrate remarkable Scottish women from all walks of life who have made an outstanding contribution to Scottish society.

Taking place at Glasgow Women’s Library, the special ceremony saw young volunteers from Glasgow Women’s Library present each inductee with a limited edition print from Edinburgh-based print maker Jessica Crisp.

Full details of this year’s ten inductees are as follows:

  • Forensic anthropologist, anatomist and academic, Professor Dame Sue Black
  • Writer, performer, poet and teacher Jo Clifford.
  • Singer and songwriter Horse Macdonald.
  • Freelance dance artist Rosina Bonsu.
  • Writer and critic Joyce McMillan.
  • Radiographer, skier and climber Myrtle Simpson.
  • Political activist and co-founder of the Glasgow Girls Roza Salih.
  • Performance artist, choreographer, maker, teacher and speaker Caroline Bowditch.
  • Journalist, writer producer and community leader Remzije Sherifi.
  • Artist and teacher Sam Ainsley

Commenting on her induction, Caroline Bowditch said

“I feel flattered and humbled that anyone would be moved to nominate me to be part of such an amazing group of women.”


Explore the entire community here


22 September 2018

The 2018 Fletcher of Saltoun Awards announced

 the 30th annual Fletcher of Saltoun awards were announced on 22 September. Organised by the Saltire Society, this honorary award is presented annually to inspiring Scots in recognition of their outstanding contribution to Scotland’s culture and society.

Read More >


30 July 2018

Outstanding Women of Scotland 2018

Join us as at a special event announcing the 2018 Saltire Outstanding Women of Scotland.

Read More >


20 June 2018

Saltire Housing Awards 2018 Winners Announced!

Read about the winning projects celebrated at last nights awards ceremony.

Read More >


18 April 2018

Competition Seeks Best Poetry in Scots, Scottish Gaelic and English

The Saltire Society is delighted to be continuing our support of the Wigtown Scots Poetry Competition in 2018

Read More >


29 March 2018

Alasdair Gray Bursary Winner Announcement

Folksinger Iona Fyfe has been awarded the Alasdair Gray Inspring Scotland Bursary.

Read More >


19 March 2018

Inspiring Scotland Bursary sees Writer go to Brazil

Writer Helen McClory attended the Kaaysa Residency, a month long Residency in Brazil.

Read More >


30 November 2017

saltire Literary Awards Announced!

The Saltire Society Literary Awards were announced on St Andrew's Day

Read More >


30 November 2017

Saltire Publisher Awards Announced

The Saltire Society Publisher of the Year Awards were announced on St Andrew's Day

Read More >


25 October 2017

Saltire Civil Engineering Awards 2017 Announced

We were delighted to announce the 2017 Saltire Civil Engineerings Awards at a ceremony in the National Museum of Scotland on the 24October.

Read More >


18 September 2017

Dundee Contemporary Arts Centre Hosts 2017 Fletcher of Saltoun Awards

The 2017 Fletcher of Saltoun Awards were presented at the Dundee Contepoary Arts Centre this past Saturday Septmebr 16th.

Read More >


21 June 2017

Saltire Housing Design Awards Announced!

We announced our 2017 Housing Design Awards on the 21st June 2017. Find out who won what.

Read More >