Friday 1 November 2013

Scottish Book and First Book Shortlist announced!

Awarded annually the Book of the Year Award is given to either a book by a living author/s of Scottish descent or residing in Scotland or the book subject must be the work or life of a Scot or engage with a Scottish issue.  The First Book of the Year Award is presented to a previously unpublished author.




  • Life After Life by Kate      Atkinson: Doubleday
  • The Professor of Truth by James      Robertson: Hamish Hamilton/Penguin
  • Empire Antarctica by Gavin      Francis: Chatto and Windus
  • Mairi Dhall agus Sgeulachdan by      Donnchadh Macgilliosa: Clar
  • Something Like Happy by John Burnside: Jonathan Cape
  • Looking for Mrs Livingstone by Julie Davidson: Saint      Andrew Press
  • Artful by Ali Smith: Penguin Press



  • The Necessary Death of Lewis      Winter by Malcolm Mackay: Mantle
  • As Far As I Can See by Eunice      Buchanan: Kettillonia
  • Nothing is Heavy by Vicky      Jarrett: Linen Press
  • Caleb’s List Kellan      Macinnes: Luath Press
  • Air Cuan Dubh Drilseach by Tim      Armstrong: Clar


A short review of each book from the panel is attached to this email.


Winners of the Awards will be announced at a ceremony in the Mitchell Library, Glasgow on the 14th November from 4.30pm.


There will also be awards for the winners of our Research Book of the Year and History Book of the Year.


Ian Campbell, Convener of the Book of the Year and First Book Panel said:

Our panel had a real challenge to decide this shortlist from amongst another exceptional year of Scottish writing. We expect an interesting and passionate debate in our final discussions to decide the winners from amongst such exceptional works.


This year bears witness to the continuing strength and experimentation in writing in Scots. Eunice Buchanan in prose and poetry, Malcolm Mackay in a tough city Scots voice. And although it didn’t make the shortlist we were enormously impressed by the extraordinary Naw Much of A Talker where Donal McLaughlin takes Pedro Lenz's crackling 2010 novel in Swiss German and vaults into an excellent written Scots translation.  Lenz was inspired by a six-month residence in Scotland: McLaughlin's translation makes for a novel full of energy and wit.  Scots is obviously alive and well.


A new initiative has been established this year, which sees a student shadowing the First Book Award from the Shortlist.  Laura Jones, a postgraduate student at the Stirling Centre for International Publishing and Communication


Claire Squires, Professor of Publishing Studies at the University of Stirling and Literary Awards panel member, commented:

It’s exciting to be announcing the shortlists for the awards at the Wigtown Book Festival for the first time this year, as part of the panel discussion ‘In Search of Scotland's New Generation of Writers’. In keeping with the theme of the next generation, we’ve introduced a shadowing scheme this year. Laura Jones, one of our students, will be reading the shortlist for the First Book of the Year Award along with the panel. She’ll be blogging about her experience at as well as the Saltire Society website. This adds to the work undertaken by Stevie Marsden, who is working on a PhD focused on the Literary Awards in collaboration with the Society and the AHRC.


For more information and for images of the shortlisted books and author’s please contact



7 October 2018

Thirty Years of Inspiration

The Saltire Society is pleased to announce that a special Award will be presented to a First Book Award winning writer. There is a host of fantastically inspiring writers from its 30 year history and we want to recognise one writer's contribution to literature, and celebrate their growth as a writer and their inspiration to others.

And you get the final say!

Read More >


28 September 2018

Hew Strachan Awarded Honorary Membership

Hew Strachan awarded Honorary Membership of the Saltire Society.

Read More >


22 September 2018

The 2018 Fletcher of Saltoun Awards announced

 the 30th annual Fletcher of Saltoun awards were announced on 22 September. Organised by the Saltire Society, this honorary award is presented annually to inspiring Scots in recognition of their outstanding contribution to Scotland’s culture and society.

Read More >


30 July 2018

Outstanding Women of Scotland 2018

Join us as at a special event announcing the 2018 Saltire Outstanding Women of Scotland.

Read More >


20 June 2018

Saltire Housing Awards 2018 Winners Announced!

Read about the winning projects celebrated at last nights awards ceremony.

Read More >


29 March 2018

Alasdair Gray Bursary Winner Announcement

Folksinger Iona Fyfe has been awarded the Alasdair Gray Inspring Scotland Bursary.

Read More >


19 March 2018

Inspiring Scotland Bursary sees Writer go to Brazil

Writer Helen McClory attended the Kaaysa Residency, a month long Residency in Brazil.

Read More >


30 November 2017

saltire Literary Awards Announced!

The Saltire Society Literary Awards were announced on St Andrew's Day

Read More >


25 October 2017

Saltire Civil Engineering Awards 2017 Announced

We were delighted to announce the 2017 Saltire Civil Engineerings Awards at a ceremony in the National Museum of Scotland on the 24October.

Read More >


18 September 2017

Dundee Contemporary Arts Centre Hosts 2017 Fletcher of Saltoun Awards

The 2017 Fletcher of Saltoun Awards were presented at the Dundee Contepoary Arts Centre this past Saturday Septmebr 16th.

Read More >


21 June 2017

Saltire Housing Design Awards Announced!

We announced our 2017 Housing Design Awards on the 21st June 2017. Find out who won what.

Read More >