Thursday 29 August 2013

Housing Awards Shortlist Announced!

We are delighted to announce the 2013 Saltire Housing Design Awards 2013


Lesley Riddoch Unveils Saltire Awards Shortlist...

With Scottish Minister Set to Present the Accolades


Saltire Society Housing Design Awards Guest Chair Lesley Riddoch has announced a diverse awards shortlist for 2013, with the scheme enjoying another year of encouraging submissions from across Scotland’s innovative housing stock.


The Society has also revealed that Scottish Cabinet Secretary for Minister for Housing and Welfare- Margaret Burgess MSP - will present the gongs at the 76th annual ceremony on the 9th September at the Lighthouse, Glasgow.


The full 2013 Saltire Society Housing Design Awards Shortlist is as follows:

Large Scale Housing Development

 - Dunsmuir Street, Govan: Anderson Bell + Christie Architects


Small Scale Housing Development

- Bridge of Dye, Banchory: NORD Architecture


Alterations, renovations and extensions

- Little Ennochie, Finzean, Banchory:Michael Rasmussen Associates

- Westbourne Drive, Bearsden: NORD Architecture

- Grange Loan, Edinburgh: Helen Lucas Architects


Single Dwelling - New Build

- The Ramp House, Portobello: Chambers McMillan Architects

- Artists Residence, Perth: Fergus Purdie Architects

- Passive House, North Berwick: Brennan & Wilson Architects

- Turf House, Kilmaluag, Skye: Rural Design


Innovation in Housing Award

- Stewart Milne Group Design Guide

- South Seeds Energy Snapshot Report




An Award to the value of £1500 will be made for a work of art and/or craft designed to enhance and enrich the built environment (in its broadest sense). Student artists and craftsmen working in any suitable medium were invited to enter a graduation piece for the 2013 award by nomination. The Award endeavours to enable the winner to pursue a research project, including international travel related to their practice. The winner will also receive an Award certificate and membership of the Society. The shortlisted candidates are;

Allison Secker                                                             
The Scott Sutherland School of Architecture

Anna Barbieri, Andy Casey, Chlose Fawcett, Sniedze Riekstina    
Glasgow School of Art

Marcus Rothnie                                            
Edinburgh College of Art

Louise Paterson                                            
University of Dundee

Lisa Irvine                                                       
University of Strathclyde



7 October 2018

Thirty Years of Inspiration

The Saltire Society is pleased to announce that a special Award will be presented to a First Book Award winning writer. There is a host of fantastically inspiring writers from its 30 year history and we want to recognise one writer's contribution to literature, and celebrate their growth as a writer and their inspiration to others.

And you get the final say!

Read More >


28 September 2018

Hew Strachan Awarded Honorary Membership

Hew Strachan awarded Honorary Membership of the Saltire Society.

Read More >


22 September 2018

The 2018 Fletcher of Saltoun Awards announced

 the 30th annual Fletcher of Saltoun awards were announced on 22 September. Organised by the Saltire Society, this honorary award is presented annually to inspiring Scots in recognition of their outstanding contribution to Scotland’s culture and society.

Read More >


30 July 2018

Outstanding Women of Scotland 2018

Join us as at a special event announcing the 2018 Saltire Outstanding Women of Scotland.

Read More >


20 June 2018

Saltire Housing Awards 2018 Winners Announced!

Read about the winning projects celebrated at last nights awards ceremony.

Read More >


29 March 2018

Alasdair Gray Bursary Winner Announcement

Folksinger Iona Fyfe has been awarded the Alasdair Gray Inspring Scotland Bursary.

Read More >


19 March 2018

Inspiring Scotland Bursary sees Writer go to Brazil

Writer Helen McClory attended the Kaaysa Residency, a month long Residency in Brazil.

Read More >


30 November 2017

saltire Literary Awards Announced!

The Saltire Society Literary Awards were announced on St Andrew's Day

Read More >


25 October 2017

Saltire Civil Engineering Awards 2017 Announced

We were delighted to announce the 2017 Saltire Civil Engineerings Awards at a ceremony in the National Museum of Scotland on the 24October.

Read More >


18 September 2017

Dundee Contemporary Arts Centre Hosts 2017 Fletcher of Saltoun Awards

The 2017 Fletcher of Saltoun Awards were presented at the Dundee Contepoary Arts Centre this past Saturday Septmebr 16th.

Read More >


21 June 2017

Saltire Housing Design Awards Announced!

We announced our 2017 Housing Design Awards on the 21st June 2017. Find out who won what.

Read More >