Literary and First Book Panel

David Robinson (Convener)

David Robinson is the Books Editor of The Scotsman. Born in Bradford, he has been a newspaper journalist all his working life.

Professor Ian Campbell

In 2009 he retired from the chair of Scottish and Victorian Literature at the University of Edinburgh. He is one of the senior editors of the Carlyle Letters project, and active in the fields of both Victorian and Scottish literature of the last 250 years.

Dr. Ann Matheson

Formerly Keeper of Printed Books in the National Library of Scotland. She is Secretary-General of the the Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche (LIBER) and Chairman of the Advisory Committee for Sabhal Mòr Ostaig Library, UHI, Isle of Skye. She is Editor of Statistical Accounts Online in the University of Edinburgh, and a member of the Board of the Scottish Poetry Library.

Joyce McMillan

Theatre Critic and Columnist.

Hannah McGill

Hannah McGill is a freelance writer and critic, and former artistic director of the Edinburgh International Film Festival.

Alan Bett

Scotland Books Editor at The Skinny since 2013, Alan is a member of Scottish PEN and was winner of the first Jan Fairley award for cultural journalism in 2015, in relation to an interview with Chinese author Jung Chang and a feature on the US storytelling phenomenon The Moth. He has also written extensively on film for The Skinny and Frieze magazine, and appeared on Radio Scotland to discuss literary adaptations. He is also one of twenty appointed Scottish Book Trust Bookfellas, tasked with promoting reading to Scottish men and raising funds for the Trusts literacy programmes

Hannah Giffin (Waterstones Representative).

Hannah Griffin has been working in Waterstones for over four years, specialising in Scottish books after graduating with a BA(Hons) in Literature from the University of the Highlands and Islands. She loves Jane Austen and writing in the third person. 



Poetry Panel - Literary Panel plus invited specialists.

Robyn Marsack

Director of the Scottish Poetry Library

Professor Rory Watson

Lecturer at University of Stirling of English Studies


History Book Panel

Professor Chris Whatley (Conviener)

Professor of Scottish History, Vice Principal & Head of College of Arts & Social Science, University of Dundee

Dr Catriona MacDonald

Reader in Late Modern Scottish history (History)

Dr Fiona Watson

Research consultant on the Centre for History's forestry project University of Highlands and Islands.

Professor Richard Oram

Deputy Head of Arts and Humanities, Professor of Environmental and Medieval History, University of Stirling

Dr David Caldwell

Formerly Keeper of Scotland & Europe in the National Museums of Scotland.


Research Book Panel

Convener to be confirmed.

Dr Cate Newton

Former Director of Collections and Research, National Library of Scotland.

Robyn Smith

Head of Collections and Interpretation, National Library of Scotland.