The Saltire Society Literary Awards have a proud history of celebrating and bringing wider attention to excellence in all literary forms and is now Scotland's foremost literary awards. From poetry and plays to novels and non-fiction, the Saltire Literary Awards are a testament to the outstanding calibre of modern Scottish literature in all its varied forms. 

The Awards celebrate and support literary and academic excellence across six distinct categories with the winner of each of the individual book categories going forward to be considered for the Saltire Book of the Year Award.

Previous winners include Michel Faber, Alisdair Gray, Liz Lochhead and A.L. Kennedy.

Saltire Society Book of the Year 2016


Now firmly established as Scotland’s most prestigious annual book awards, the Saltire Society Literary Awards are supported by Creative Scotland and celebrate and support literary and academic excellence across six distinct categories. The winner of each individual book award wins a £2,000 cash prize and goes forward to be considered for the Saltire Book of the Year award and an accompanying cash prize of £6,000.

Kathleen’s extraordinary collection was also named 2016 Saltire Society Scottish Poetry Book of the Year, winning what judges described as an exceptionally strong category with a shortlist that also included works by well-established, award-winning poets Don Paterson, John Glenday, Pàdraig MacAoidh / Peter Mackay, J.O. Morgan and Vicki Husband.

Other award winners this year included Set Adrift Upon the World, an evocative account of the Sutherland clearances and winner of the History Book of the Year award; Trials, an examination of justice and injustice from the perspective of inmates on Pakistan’s death row and joint winner of the First Book of the Year award with Expecting by Chitra Ramswamy, an innovative and thought provoking look at pregnancy, Sebastiaan Verweij's investigation into The Literary Culture of Early Modern Scotland and His Bloody Project, Graeme Macrae Burnet’s engrossing novel about the true 19th Century case of a multiple murder in a remote crofting community,winner of the Fiction Book of the Year award.

 On winning the ard Kathleen said:

“I'm delighted that The Bonniest Companie has been named 'Scottish Poetry Book of the Year', but also a bit embarrassed. It was a terrifically strong shortlist, any of us could have won. Scotland makes very good poets - a fact that's still not acknowledged as it ought to be.  I'm grateful to the judges. It couldn't have been an easy decision."

Kathleen Jamie collected both awards at a special ceremony at the Central Hall in Edinburgh on 24 November.

 All The Winners



 Find out who won the publisher awards here