Established in 1988, the Fletcher of Saltoun Awards form part of the Saltire Society’s annual awards programme and seeks to recognise outstanding contributions to Scottish society across different walks of life. The awards celebrate the legacy of Andrew Fletcher of Saltoun, a seventeenth century Scottish writer and politician and a keen patron of the arts during his lifetime.

Previous recipients include Tom Fleming, Donald Dewar, George Davie, David Daiches, Robin Jenkins and George Mackay Brown amongst others. In 2014 the awards expanded to include awards for contribution to Science, Arts and Humanities and Public Life.

2016 Andrew Fletcher of Saltoun Awards

Find out how about the 2016 Andrew Fletcher of Saltoun Awards. The recipients were announced at the Society's Annual General Meeting in Inverness and a special ceremony in Aberdeen.


 John Angus Mackay, Dame Evelyn Glennie, Lord Provist George Adam, Prof. Alan Riach

Prof. Ian Brown, Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, John Byrne, Prof. Les Mitchell


Andrew Fletcher of Saltoun

Find out more about the man whose legacy is honoured by this award.