2016 Saltire Society Civil Engineering Awards 


This year, an expert panel of judges will assess nominations under the following six award categories:

  • Greatest Contribution to Scotland
  • Infrastructure Award
  • Building Award
  • Engineered in Scotland
  • Environmental Award
  • Special Award

As well as technical achievement, projects in each category will be assessed based on their contribution to the sustainable creation, improvement and nurturing of the physical and social environment. The overall headline award will be the Greatest Contribution to Scotland award and will be given to the project that can best demonstrate a tangible benefit to the people of Scotland and that best showcases the crucial contribution of civil engineering to Scottish life.

Commenting on the launch of this year’s awards, Saltire Society President Magnus Linklater said:

“This is a special year for the Saltire Society, being 80 years since the society was first set up. It’s also an important year for the built environment in Scotland, being Scotland’s Year of Innovation, Architecture and Design. So it seems particularly fitting that this year’s Saltire Society Civil Engineering Awards should include a new expanded format with a total of six award categories to be decided by our expert panel of judges. We look forward to receiving nominations and to celebrating a wide variety of civil engineering projects from throughout the country at our special awards ceremony in October.”